Home About Y Stories Work Here Volunteer Here Contact

Leadership and Certification Programs

Junior Lifeguard Club (JLC)
The Junior Lifeguard Club (JLC) offers serious fun for kids 8 years and up who can swim at least 25m and tread water for 2 minutes. The Jr. Lifeguard Club provides an action-packed challenge for kids who love the water but who want more than "lessons."

The Jr. Lifeguard Club is for quick learners, those between levels or programs who thrive in an energetic learning environment.


Swim and Lifesaving Instructors
The Lifesaving Society Swim Instructor course prepares the instructor to teach and evaluate the swimming strokes and related skills found in the Lifesaving Society Swim for Life program. Candidates acquire proven teaching methods, planning skills, and a variety of stroke development drills and correction techniques.

Bronze Star - Life Saving Society (LSS)
Advanced lifesaving course designed to prepare participants for Bronze Medallion. Emphasis is placed on rescue drills, fitness skills and victim recognition. Prerequisite: Ability to swim 25 metres, tread water for a minimum of 45 seconds, no age requirement (recommended 12 years).

Bronze Medallion/Emergency First Aid - LSS
First step in Advanced Lifesaving. Emphasis is placed on AR, CPR and recovery position, treatment of shock and hypothermia as well as various rescue techniques. Prerequisite: Current Bronze Star - no age requirement  Without Bronze Star - 13 years of age and the ability to tread water for a minimum of 45 seconds. Extra Charges for manuals.

Bronze Cross - LSS
Second step in Advanced Lifesaving. Emphasis is placed on the recognition of emergencies and how to respond to these emergencies. Spinal rollovers are introduced. Prerequisite: Current Bronze Medallion and Emergency First Aid. Extra Charges for manuals.

National Lifeguard Service - LSS
This course is required to become a certified lifeguard. You learn various lifesaving techniques and take part in practical situations. Prerequisite: Bronze Cross and Current Standard First Aid with CPR 'C', 16 years of age and older. Extra Charges for manual.

Standard First Aid/CPR Recert - Red Cross
You must have a current Standard First Aid CPR C Full Certification that is expiring to take the Recertification Course. This 8 hour course is a 're testing' of your knowledge of the Standard First Aid Course it includes CPR C and AED for public access. To take this course you must have taken a FULL Red Cross Standard First Aid Certification (16 hours) within the last 3 years.

Copyright 2012. YMCAWO.Privacy StatementAODA

YMCA of Southwestern Ontario Association Charitable Registration #10764 1649 RR0002